hectec.de

Switch to desktop Register Login



Balgrist University Hospital using hectec mediCAD

In 2011, Balgrist University Hospital in Zürich switched to a centrally-operated PACS with individual tenants for multiple institutions, commonly known as a “multi-site PACS”. Since that time, it has also been using the mediCAD orthopedic planning system. The ability to work together with a contemporary system for digital operation planning and documentation was a major factor in selecting the PACS. Ensuring access to existing data was also a central issue when deciding to switch to the new system.

Multi-site PACS bidding process
With these things in mind, hospitals GZO AG Wetzikon, Limmattal, See-Spital, and Balgrist University Hospital explored their options for launching a centrally operated PACS for all four institutions. In 2009, they contracted Logicare to generate a GATT/WTO-compliant request for bids for a centrally operated system. Following the bidding process and a detailed analysis of technical and financial aspects, Logicare and the hospitals jointly selected AGFA to be the system vendor.

Centralized infrastructure
Technical implementation began in the third quarter of 2010. At the Balgrist University Hospital, a total of 10 TB of data from 500,000 examinations had to be imported into the new system. This large transfer of data required approximately three months, due in part to the need to reassign orphaned records.

Digital operation planning
In addition to implementation of the new PACS, the “mediCAD” planning software from German manufacturer hectec was introduced throughout the hospital. mediCAD is a CAD software application that is used to overlay implants and associated components in the PACS on top of radiology images. This makes it easy for a surgeon to efficiently plan a suitable socket and shaft combination, for example.

 


   
hectec's implant database is a major reason for the solution's success, since it allows a doctor to quickly choose the best implant directly on the screen. The database is continuously updated and currently contains products from 90 manufacturers around the world, covering more than 80% of all implants used in Europe. The solution fits seamlessly into the EDP systems used at the hospitals. Both the integration into the new PACS as well as the ability to access all templates have proven to be valuable features during day-to-day usage of the system at the University Hospital.
Dr. Christian W. A. Pfirrmann is a professor, head physician, and director at Balgrist University Hospital. He had this to say: „mediCAD makes many tasks easier. It is installed on every office PC and is accessible during consultation meetings and in the operating halls, making it readily accessible for everyone who needs it. It is also essential for documentation purposes and enables a post-op comparison of the planning with the actual operation.“
Before installation of the new solution, operations were planned in the conventional manner with x-ray films. But now the hospital can forgo printing of the films, thereby avoiding potential sources of errors. This saves both time and money, but improved safety is even more important. Since mediCAD is a widely used system, many people at the hospital already have experience with it. Just two short training programs of approximately two hours were adequate in order to use the system efficiently.

Prof. Dr. Christian W. A. Pfirrmann,
EMBA, is the head physician of radiology at Balgrist University Hospital in Zürich and a member of the hospital’s management board.

The most recent version 2.50 of the planning program for orthopedic surgeons and hospitals has been significantly expanded and given fresh aesthetics. Automated procedures and revised operation save additional time. In total, the new version contains more than 100 new functions and changes.
hectec GmbH has been developing its "mediCAD Classic" planning solution continuously since 1999. This program is certified and approved around the world as a medical product.

It is compatible with all planning methodologies, so processes are documented in a legally secure way. At the University Hospital, all specialized teams now use the planning solution for shoulder and hip operations and for all of the lower extremities such as knees and ankles. In addition to planning functions, mediCAD also has numerous measurement capabilities, making it an important tool during diagnostics of the spinal column, for example.

Networking hospitals


By switching to the new system, Balgrist University Hospital now has a direct connection to the Schulthess Clinic, for example. The medical connectors in DICOM format provide for secure and encrypted exchange of information with other institutions. Authorized recipients of data can easily import radiology data into their own PACS. In addition to DICOM, other formats like PDF, .doc, XML, HL7, and CDA are also supported.

 
New functionality in the RIS/PACS environments, such as orthopedic planning with HECTEC or 3-D depiction, require new software and hardware elements, which often leads to a complete replacement of older PACS. However, existing data can still be used. The system replacement at the Balgrist University Hospital shows that it is possible to switch to a new system in only six months, with no interruptions

FaLang translation system by Faboba

© 2014 Hectec All Rights Reserved.

Top Desktop version

hectec.de

Switch to desktop Register Login

Uniklinik Zürich Balgrist setzt hectec mediCAD ein

Seit der Umstellung auf ein neues «Multisite PACS» - ein für mehrere Institutionen zentral betriebenes PACS mit einzelnen Mandanten - 2011 nutzt die Uniklinik Zürich / Balgrist das digitale Orthopädieplanungssystem mediCAD. Die Zusammenarbeit mit einem zeitgemäßen System zur digitalen Operationsplanung und Dokumentation spielte bei der Auswahl des PACS eine wichtige Rolle. Zentrale Thema bei Umstellung auf das neue PACS war auch, den Zugriff auf die bestehenden Daten von mehreren Standorten zu gewährleisten.

Ausschreibung Multisite-PACS
Vor diesem Hintergrund sondierten die vier Spitäler GZO AG Wetzikon, Limmattal, See-Spital und die Uniklinik Zürich Balgrist die Einführung eines zentral betriebenen PACS und Planung für alle vier Häuser. Logicare wurde 2009 beauftragt, eine GATT/WTO-Ausschreibung für ein zentral betriebenes System zu erstellen. Nach der Ausschreibung und der eingehenden Analyse der technischen und wirtschaftlichen Aspekte haben sich Logicare und die Auftraggeber gemeinsam für AGFA Health Care als Systemlieferanten entschieden.

Zentrale Basisinfrastruktur
Die technische Umsetzung begann im dritten Quartal 2010. Bei der Uniklinik Balgrist mussten insgesamt zehn Terrabyte an Daten von 500 000 Untersuchungen in das neue System übernommen werden. Dieser Datentransfer beanspruchte mit der Wiederzuordnung von «Karteileichen» rund drei Monate.

Digitale OP-Planung
Zusätzlich zur Implementierung des neuen PACS wurde auch die Orthopädie-Planungssoftware "mediCAD" des deutschen Spezialisten hectec (Landshut) klinikweit eingeführt. Bei dieser Anwendung handelt es sich um einer medizinischen CAD-Software, mittels derer Implantate und zugehörige Komponenten im PACS über die Radiologie Bilder gelegt / geplant werden können. So kann beispielsweise bei einer Hüftoperation eine geeignete Pfannen-/Schaftkombination effizient am System geplant werden.

 


   
Zentral ist die von mediCAD zur Verfügung gestellte Implantat-Datenbank, aus welcher der Arzt, sofort auf dem Bildschirm das optimal passende Implantat auswählen kann. Die Datenbank wird fortlaufend erweitert, umfasst heute die Artikel von weltweit 90 Herstellern und deckt in Europa über 80 Prozent aller verwendeten Implantate ab. Die Lösung passt sich nahtlos in die EDV-Ausstattung der Kliniken ein. Sowohl die Integration in das neue PACS als auch der Zugriff auf alle Templates haben sich an der Uniklinik in der täglichen Arbeit als besonders vorteilhaft erwiesen.
Prof. Dr. med. Christian W. A. Pfirrmann, Chefarzt und Institutsleitung der Uniklinik: „mediCAD erleichtert viele Abläufe. Es ist an jedem PC in den Büros, bei den Sprechstunden und in den OP-Sälen installiert und damit ortsunabhängig für alle Mitarbeiter nutzbar. Zudem ist es für die Dokumentation unverzichtbar und ermöglicht einen Post-OP-Vergleich der Planung mit der Operation“
Vor der Installation der neuen Lösung wurden OPs in herkömmlicher Weise mit Röntgenfilmen geplant. Sowohl der Ausdruck der Filme als auch die manchmal damit verbundenen Fehlermöglichkeiten entfallen jetzt. Dies spart nicht nur Zeit, sondern auch Geld. Die höhere Sicherheit ist jedoch noch wichtiger. Da mediCAD ein verbreitetes System ist, hatten viele Kollegen schon Erfahrungen damit. Zwei kurze Schulungen mit etwa zwei Stunden Dauer reichten, um das System effizient einzusetzen.

Prof. Dr. Christian W. A. Pfirrmann,
exec. MBA ist Chefarzt Radiologie an der Uniklinik Balgrist in Zürich und Mitglied der Klinikleitung.

Das Planungsprogramm für orthopädische Chirurgen und Kliniken ist in der aktuellen Version 2.50 deutlich erweitert , und ergonomisch optimiert worden. Automatisierte Abläufe und die effektive Bedienung sparen zusätzlich Zeit. Insgesamt sind über 100 neue Funktionen und Änderungen hinzugekommen.

Die hectec GmbH entwickelt ihre Planungslösung „mediCAD Classic“ seit 1999. Das Programm ist zertifiziert und weltweit als Medizinprodukt zugelassen.

Es berücksichtigt alle Planungsmethodiken und dokumentiert alle Vorgänge gesetzeskonform, und rechtssicher. In der Uniklinik Zürich setzen alle Spezialisten-Teams die Planungslösung z. Bsp.: für Schulter- und Hüft-OPs und in allen Bereichen der unteren Extremitäten wie Knie und Knöchel. Über die OP-Planung hinaus ist mediCAD durch seine zahlreichen Möglichkeiten zur Messung ein wichtiges Instrument bei der Diagnostik etwa bei der Wirbelsäule geworden.

Kliniken vernetzt


Mit dem Wechsel auf das neue System ist beispielsweise die Uniklinik Balgrist mit einer direkten Leitung an die Schulthess Klinik angebunden. Der sichere und verschlüsselte Austausch mit anderen Institutionen findet über die Medical Connectors im DICOM-Format statt. Der autorisierte Empfänger der Daten kann die Radiologiedaten einfach in sein eigenes PACS übernehmen. Neben DICOM werden auch Formate wie PDF, DOC, XML, HL7 und CDA unterstützt.

 
Neue Funktionalitäten in den RIS/PACS-Umgebungen − wie zum Beispiel die Orthopädieplanung mittels HECTEC oder die 3D-Darstellung − erfordern neue Soft- und Hardware-Elemente, was vielfach zu einer kompletten Ablösung älterer PACS führt. Alte Datenbestände hingegen können übernommen werden. Die Systemablösung in der Uniklinik Balgrist zeigt, dass eine unterbruchsfreie Umstellung innert nur sechs Monate realisiert werden kann.

FaLang translation system by Faboba

© 2014 Hectec All Rights Reserved.

Top Desktop version